Ranazul-My First Solo Exhibit and Reception! The Journey Continues..

DSC_0831DSC_0782DSC_0791

Wow! Yesterday was one of the biggest events of my life to date. It was my largest accomplishment as a budding artist and a huge success! An enormous success by my standards because what I had really been wanting was for people that know and love me, that I have a relationship with to be able to come together and experience another deeper aspect of who I am and for us to get know each other better. And let’s enjoy some delicious wine and food while we’re at it. We built history that evening. I’m humbled by the many parents, kids, friends, and family that came together to make this evening so special. I hope everybody had a great time and enjoyed it as much as I did. Thank you for all the support! I hope I have and can continue to support you in the same way! Yesterday was me at my best.

DSC_0786

#community

Here is my working artist statement from the show:

I am a self-taught artist based out of Columbia, MD. I strive for pure creation. I love the energy and freedom I experience in drip painting and am drawn to different colors and combinations as they occur to me. I have the greatest respect and admiration for children, at their best they live from the place that I endeavor to create from. Art for me is about process, it is an avenue for me to return to and strengthen the place and practice of imagination. The creation itself is a symbol or by-product of the experience and journey taking place within me. The different color combinations that I invoke all have a unique statement, expressed in an unspoken language. I feel no allegiance whatsoever to any art tradition or design principles although I greatly admire Jackson Pollock and I respect and support all artists and art forms.
-Fidel
 DSC_0851
The dinner afterwards in the gallery was sublime experience 🙂
***
I learned so much for the whole process leading up to and preparing for the exhibit. I had just over three weeks from when I agreed to do the show to when it would be set up. I already had a lot of artwork but most of it was just loose canvas. I had to buy the wooden bars and stretch and staple all of the paintings myself. I had to make last minute adjustments, touch-ups and re-adjustments. I also had to paint and repaint a few new and some already created paintings. Many valuable lessons learned from this experience.
This is what I feel learning is, it’s experiencing and then interpreting and reinterpreting and creating and re-creating meaning from that experience. Sure, somebody could have told me all of the things I learned from this, but that takes all of the fun and meaning out of it. It takes the journey out of it, and journey is as important as the destination. It makes the destination worth arriving at. (Or so they say)
DSC_0828
More pictures from the event here
Now, onto the next one. We are just getting started…
                                                                                -Fidel
Leave a Reply

